Disclaimer: Due to the rapidly changing nature of social work regulations, for the most up-to-date information on becoming a social worker in South Dakota, contact the South Dakota Social Work Licensing Board.
South Dakota law recognizes four classes of social workers: Certified Independent Practice Social Worker (CIPSW), Certified Social Worker (LCSW), Licensed Social Worker (LSW) and Licensed Social Work Associate (LSWA). The requirements are as follows:
South Dakota CSW-PIP Education Requirement: A doctorate or master’s degree from a CSWE-accredited social work program
South Dakota CSW-PIP Exam: Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Clinical or Advanced Generalist Level Examination
Field Requirement: Two years of supervised clinical experience in the intended practice area
Fee: $210 application fee, $260 ASWB exam
Additional Information: Applicants must be licensed as Certified Social Workers.
Endorsement: Available upon board approval
License Renewal: Renewal is required every two years. Renewal is required every two years. Requirements for renewal are the successful completion of 30 contact hours of continuing education and payment of a $210 renewal fee
South Dakota Social Worker Education Requirement: Baccalaureate degree in social worker or a social welfare program from a CSWE-accredited social work program OR baccalaureate degree in another field, plus two years’ experience in the social work field and completion of Board-approved courses equivalent to a social welfare program
South Dakota Social Worker Exam: Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Bachelor's Level Examination
Field Requirement: None
Fee: $130 license fee; $230 ASWB examination fee
Additional Information: None
Endorsement: Available upon Board approval
License Renewal: Renewal is required every two years. Renewal is required every two years. Requirements for renewal are the successful completion of 30 contact hours of continuing education and payment of a $130 renewal fee
In order to become a licensed social work practitioner in South Dakota, you will need to complete prerequisite coursework, examination requirements, and, in some cases, supervised work requirements. Also, certain levels of social work in South Dakota can only be reached after earning a Master of Social Work. We are committed to keeping updated information on South Dakota social work licensure policies available to you.
Disclaimer: There may be additional methods of certification that have not been covered here. Please contact your state social work licensing department for more information.
Disclaimer: Social Worker Salary information is taken from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Information about social worker salaries in South Dakota is subject to change. Please confirm salary information with your state before applying for licensure or renewal. Last updated: 8/22/2018.
Description: This program provides for the repayment of qualifying education loans for health professionals. In return, the health professional commits to fulfill a service obligation in an eligible practice site within a federally designated health professional shortage area for a minimum of two years. Loan repayment amounts for a two-year contract are $19,000 for non-physicians. Non-physicians can contract up to three years and receive $35,000.